AZ Association of Chiefs of Police
City of Surprise
Michael Frazier - President
Jerald L. Monahan -Immediate Past President
Roberto A. Villaseņor - First Vice President
Lake Havasu City
Dan Doyle - Second Vice President
Ray Cota - Third Vice President
Terry Rozema - Fourth Vice President
Joe Brugman - Fifth Vice President
Ad Hoc Retired Member
Jack Harris
Executive Director
Jan Strauss - Executive Director

Prescott - Jerald L. Monahan -Immediate Past President

Click for larger Image

Jerald Monahan is a 35 year public safety official having begun his law enforcement career in 1978 at the Arizona Department of Corrections.  A year later, Chief Monahan went to work for the Casa Grande Police Department as a police officer.  He served in Casa Grande until 2002, leaving at the rank of Lieutenant.  That year he accepted a Commander's position, rank of Captain, with the Pinal County Sheriff's Office and a short time later was appointed as the Chief Deputy.  In June of 2008, he left the Pinal County Sheriff's Office to accept the Chief of Police position with the Apache Junction Police Department where he served until March of 2013.  On March 4, 2013 he began serving the City of Prescott as their Chief of Police.

Jerald is actively involved in addressing issues surrounding violence against women.  He has served on the Safe Home Network and was a member of the Board of Directors for Against Abuse, Inc.  Jerald has been a member of the Pinal County Domestic Violence Coalition since 1996 and was instrumental in getting the Pinal County Domestic Violence Fatality Review Team started in 2006, serving as one of the first co-chairs.  He was appointed to the Governor's Commission to Prevent Violence Against Women in 2003 and reappointed in 2008 and currently is the Commission Chair. Jerald was appointed by the Arizona Supreme Court to serve on the Committee to Study the Impact of Domestic Violence on the Courts in 2005.  He taught the domestic violence curriculum at the Central Arizona Regional Law Officers Training Academy from 1992 to 2002 and served on the subject matter expert committee to develop and update this curriculum for the Arizona Peace Officers Standards and Training Board. 

While in Apache Junction, Chief Monahan served on the Board of Directors for CAAFA, the Community Alliance Against Family Abuse in Northern Pinal County, including serving as the Board Chair from 2011 to 2013.  Beginning January of 2011, Chief Monahan was appointed as the Chair the Governor's Commission to Prevent Violence Against Women.  He is a consultant for the National Domestic Violence Fatality Review Initiative, training and providing technical assistance to developing review teams upon request across the nation.  He played a role in seeing domestic violence fatality review teams developed in Arizona, where 13 teams now cover most regions in the state.  Chief Monahan served as co-chair of the East Valley Domestic Violence Fatality Review Team from 2010 to 2012.

Other leadership positions previously held and current: Board of Directors for the Boys and Girls Club of the East Valley, Apache Junction Branch; 2009 President of the Pinal County Law Enforcement Association; President of the East Valley Police Chief's Association; and First Vice-President of the Arizona Association of Chiefs of Police. He is the current President of the Arizona Association of Chiefs of Police.

Chief Monahan holds a Master of Science in Leadership degree with an Emphasis on Crisis Management and Disaster Preparedness from Grand Canyon University, a Bachelor of Science in Public Safety Administration degree from Grand Canyon University, and an Associate of Applied Science in Administration of Justice degree from Central Arizona College.

Chief Monahan is a graduate of the University of Arizona Cooperative Extension Project CENTRL, a two year rural leadership development program, and a graduate from the FBI's National Academy, the 230th Session, Sept. 2007. He is currently active in the FBI National Academy Associates Alumni Association.




Words to Eat, Internet Publishing